President Duterte to swear in 4,018 newly elected barangay chiefs in Calabarzon


President Rodrigo Roa Duterte will administer the mass oath-taking of some 4,018 newly elected punong barangays in Calabarzon (Cavite, Laguna, Batangas, Rizal, and Quezon).

Regional Director Manuel Q. Gotis of the Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG) Regional Office IV-A said the oath-taking ceremony is set on Thursday, June 14, at the City of Santa Rosa Sports Complex.

Of the 4,018 punong barangays who will take their oath of office, 829 are from Cavite, 681 from Laguna, 1,078 from Batangas, 188 from Rizal, and 1,242 are from Quezon.

Prior to the oath-taking ceremony of the newly elected barangay chiefs, the DILG’s top management will spearhead a dialogue to campaign for community involvement on the government’s fight against illegal drugs, criminality, corruption, and violent extremism.

Leading the battery of speakers to discuss good governance is Hon. Eduardo M. Año, DILG Officer-in-Charge (OIC).

Gotis said the barangay, being the smallest political unit in the country, is in the strategic position to perform the critical role in legislation, delivery of basic services and facilities, administering barangay justice system, and building partnerships with various stakeholders working within the locality.

The oath-taking ceremony in Calabarzon is the third of the series of regional events for the newly-installed barangay captains in the Philippines initiated by the DILG to enlist their support for the President’s priority thrusts.

The event is made possible through the collaboration of the DILG Central Office, DILG Regional Office IV-A, Presidential Management Staff, Presidential Communications Operations Office, Philippine National Police, Philippine Army, Presidential Security Group, Liga ng mga Barangay sa Calabarzon, and the City Government of Santa Rosa.